We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Songs of Suffrage

by Jim Knable

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Don't Wait 03:35
1992 03:22


All songs on this album were written by Jim Knable in July and August, 2020 and recorded in August and September of 2020 by Jim Knable and Jay Buchanan. Songs were released one a week from September 15-October 27 leading up to the November 2020 presidential election through Luna Stage in a weekly streaming live broadcast featuring discussion of voting and other civic issues with special guests, hosted by Jim Knable

SONGS OF SUFFRAGE was a production of the Luna Stage's and The Andrew Goodman Foundation's Voting Writes Project. Songs of Suffrage is supported in part by Stages Online, a partnership with New Jersey Theatre Alliance to bring theatre content into homes during the COVID-19 pandemic. www.njtheatrealliance.org

Stages Online is made possible by generous funding from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts, a Partner Agency of the National Endowment for the Arts, Bank of America,The Horizon Foundation for New Jersey, OceanFirst Foundation; the George A. Ohl, Jr. Trust; New Jersey Historical Commission; and Fund for the New Jersey Blind.


released October 6, 2020

All songs © 2020 by Jim Knable
©℗2020 Soul Kebab Records

Jim Knable - Lead vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, saxophone, wooden flute, percussion
Jay Buchanan - Upright and electric bass, backing vocals, piano, organ, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, drum set, glockenspiel, plastic folding table (on "Single Issue Voters")
Mel Johnston - Vocals on "Ladies of New Jersey" and "We Waited So Long"
James and Allison Buchanan - Backing vocals on "Don't Wait", "Election Rehearsal", and "1992"
Sean Ferguson - Tuba on "Single Issue Voters"
Strings on "We Waited So Long" are Allison Buchanan on violin, James Buchanan on cello, and Jay Buchanan on double bass.

Produced by Jim Knable
Engineered by Jay Buchanan

Album cover designed by Gillian Delacruz.

Contact Soul Kebab Records at soulkebabrecords@gmail.com


all rights reserved



Jim Knable and The Randy Bandits New York

Jim Knable plays with and without various incarnations of The Randy Bandits, formed in 2002, but if he plays with a band, it always ends up being The Randy Bandits, despite the occasionally misleading billing. Studio albums: BLUE REUNION (2020), GOLDEN ARROW (2009), REDBEARD (2006), GREEN MAN (2007-18) form the core of Jim Knable's songwriting output, but the crust is also worth exploring. ... more

contact / help

Contact Jim Knable and The Randy Bandits

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Jim Knable and The Randy Bandits recommends:

If you like Songs of Suffrage, you may also like: